Thursday, June 2, 2016

Conflicts with the Native tribes

After the Revolutionary War, the Northwest Territory was formed in 1787. Several Midwestern states were formed from the territory: Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin and Minnesota. Inevitably, encroachment by Americans into Indian lands led to warfare. The Battle of Fallen Timbers [1794], St. Clair's Defeat/Battle of the Wabash [1791], The Battle of Tippecanoe [1811] and Black Hawk's War [1832] were among the notable battles waged in the "Old Northwest" before the native tribes were finally pushed west.

Check internet sites and pensions for information on soldiers [regular army and militia] who fought in these conflicts.

No comments:

Post a Comment